270soft Forum

2020 Election: Washington DC

With 51 Days Left until in my countdown to the election, I'm going to post an analysis of the states+DC for the remainder of the election. I'll start with the safe states and make my predictions as I post each state (+ DC). Each day I'll post a new state. Each analysis will be from a Democrat perspective, since I've been researching how Democrats have performed since 2000. 

I give DC's 3 EVs to Biden. Nate Silver has Biden at 90.7% chance of winning DC. That seems very low. I'll say 99%. 

Richard Nixon in 1972 was the Republican that came the closest to winning DC in 1972. In that election, McGovern managed to win only 56% of DC.

DC is one place where Hillary Clinton outperformed all other nominees. 

Here are how 21st century Democratic nominees have fared in Washington DC:

image.png.60a1e06454989cccdaa053dcc6777106.png image.png.4ca21dbe5fb65c57dd914dc1432d144d.png image.png.bf48803100b781f6d4b2f6df3fda64c9.png image.png.d72241f9cef32eef5caee570681e8f2e.png image.png.8e86eda4954554570e2dcbad861c8ca8.png image.png.3099298c68ec8010d906901fda7e94ad.png

DC Totals ?? 87 84 85 80 76

vcczar @Reagan04 @Actinguy @Patine @Conservative Elector 2 @TheMiddlePolitical @WVProgressive @SilentLiberty @pilight @admin_270 @Hestia11 @Herbert Hoover @mlcorcoran @Leuser @upandaway @jvikings1 @Rodja @Edouard @jnewt @Nentomat @Kingthero @Sunnymentoaddict @RFK/JFKfan @Mr.Blood @Zenobiyl @Wiw @MBDemSoc @ThePotatoWalrus @Alxeu @Allyn @Cenzonico @CentristGuy @Ishan @billay @wolves @RI Democrat @lizarraba @lizphairphreak @TheLiberalKitten @MysteryKnight @avatarmushi @servo75@Mark_W

• Like 4
1 minute ago, vcczar said:

Nate Silver has Biden at 90.7% chance of winning DC. That seems very low. I'll say 99%. 

I agree. Before I read your 2nd and 3rd sentences, I thought wait what? 

Is there a reason why Gore and Clinton are purple despite losing to the GOP while Kerry is red, because he lost against Bush? @vcczar