270soft Forum

Unexpected swing States

I've been working on a 2012 scenario, and it's complete minus events and endorsers, but I've run into something strange while testing it: some States that aren't swing States by any stretch of the imagination go right down to the wire. In my last test run which gave a Huckabee v. Obama matchup, Huckabee won Mississippi by only 6 points, Tennessee by only 3 points, and WV by only 2 points. Obviously, this isn't quite what I expected. If it would have only happened once, I figure it was a fluke, but it's happened repeatedly. I've tweaked State issue centers, I've adjusted starting percentages, and I even weakened Obama's attributes a bit. I know I could continue to do that sort of thing, but I don't want to make it too unrealistic by pushing those things too far one way or the other. I considered using alienated voters, but I've never used that before and wasn't quite sure how to implement it. Would alienating voters from one party of the other work? If so, could someone with more experience creating scenarios give some advice on how to do it?

You know, that's a really good idea, using the alienated voters to make sure some states just don't move too far in the wrong direction. I have never once seen a scenario that used that method, but I suspect it could be quite effective if someone learned how to do it. Maybe the TheorySpark people themselves have some insight about how to use this feature? Like, how it works?

You know, that's a really good idea, using the alienated voters to make sure some states just don't move too far in the wrong direction. I have never once seen a scenario that used that method, but I suspect it could be quite effective if someone learned how to do it. Maybe the TheorySpark people themselves have some insight about how to use this feature? Like, how it works?