270soft Forum

Scenario Creation Articles

EGaffney

I have lots of experience designing scenarios - mostly historic elections for Prime Minister Forever, but also fictional scenarios. Different situations pose different problems for designers. I think those of us who have experience of fine-tuning certain areas should share it, both for new designers and for experienced users who want to branch out into a new area. This can be for all the TheorySpark games.

I'll post some articles. Discussion is quite welcome, so we as a community can explore all the possibilities for solving problems that arise in design. If anyone wants to either contribute an article or request a topic for discussion, post it here.

-

Managing Minor and Regional Parties in Prime Minister Forever

When considering a Prime Minister Forever scenario, we can generally break parties down into three groups:

1. Major parties: the two, or rarely three, parties with a significant presence everywhere on the map and have a good chance of winning. e.g. Labour or the Conservatives in a UK scenario.

2. Minor parties: the parties with lower polling numbers that have a presence across the map and aren't going to win. e.g. the Liberal Democrats or smaller parties in a UK scenario.

3. Regional parties: these have polling numbers like major parties, but located within a single region. e.g. the Scottish National Party in a UK scenario.

The poll numbers for minor and regional parties tend to trend upwards during the course of a game for the following reasons.

1. The AI tends to only attack major parties in attack ads. Minor parties don't have as many votes to lose and regional parties aren't worth the cost of ad production.

2. Parties can choose to only barnstorm the areas in which they are strongest. Minor and regional parties will generally have their most winnable seats concentrated in a smaller number of regions than major parties.