270soft Forum
Sign in to follow this  
supersoulty

Jefferson vs Adams - 1800

I hate being a critic of people's senarios, because I understand the amount of work that goes into these things. I have recently endevored to create a "History of the Future" line that will track all the election for the next 50 years. So far, I'm on 2016 and I have been working at it for two months.

Anyway, I have noticed some glaring inaccuracies with this senario that I think should be brought up. The first, and most obvious, is that Jefferson did not support expansion during the election. In fact, the entire Democratic-Republican Party was opposed to the idea of further expansion. Rather, it was the Federalists who were strongly in favor of the idea. Hence, this is why Jefferson did not consult the Democratic-Republican control congress on the LA Purchase. He knew that it was too good a buy to pass up (even for an anti-expansionist) and that it stood a good chance of being defeat in congress. Of course, anti-Adams historians would later spin it so that Adams was opposed to the idea, and thus, without the "great and benevolent" Jefferson, America would be 1/3 of its current size.

Second, Jefferson never made any public proclamations opposing slavery, pretty much anytime after the Declaration of Independence debate on it. He stayed quit in public and only confided his own feelings to close freinds and his diary. Adams, on the other hand, was very much opposed to slvaery and was very public about as much.